Banana Bread

This isn’t my favorite banana bread recipe. I’m hunting for the perfect banana bread recipe. I want it to be MOIST and FLAVORFUL and also simple – not with separate egg whites and yolks and all kinds of “extras.” Is it a tall order? I guess we’ll see. If you have a winning recipe, feel free to post a comment with a link to it, or let me know what it is.

1/4 cup soft butter

1/2 cup honey

2 eggs

1 cup mashed banana

3/4 cup buttermilk or 6oz pineapple juice

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Place butter in large mixing bowl. With a wire whisk, blend in honey, eggs, banana, buttermilk/juice, and vanilla one at a time in order listed. Place flour in a medium mixing bowl. Thoroughly blend in cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Blend dry ingredients into liquid ingredients just until mixed. Scoop batter into greased loaf pan. Bake at 325*F for 70 minutes or until a table knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

3 Responses to Banana Bread

  1. Shelley says:

    Hey Jana, I have a great recipe, really easy, but there is a cup of sugar in it, so you may not be interested:) Let me know.

  2. Christy says:

    Hi! I just discovered your site and I’m loving it!
    I have a banana bread recipe also that I love.

    1/2 cup butter
    1 cup sugar
    2 eggs
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1 cup all purpose flour
    1 cup whole wheat flour
    pinch of salt
    3 large bananas
    optional: 1 cup chopped nuts

    Cream sugar and butter. Add eggs and mix well. Add sifted dry ingredients (I just fluff a bit with a wire wisk.) Mix and add mashed bananas. Mix and then pour into a greased bread pan. Bake at 350* for 1 hour 5 min. Makes 1 loaf.

Leave a Reply

