Granola Bars

I have been experimenting with granola bar recipes for several weeks. We’ve been eating a lot of granola bars around here! The trouble is, there is a recipe from my childhood that is simply the best for texture and taste. But it’s got too much sugar in it, and it’s got the dreaded corn syrup. I’m going to post it here, and I’m hoping some of you will try it, and then help me to revise it in such a way that it becomes healthier, without losing the taste and texture. I don’t mind if it’s not quite as sweet, but I really, really like this texture. I like that it’s not cakey, it has no flour, and it’s not too crunchy. It’s nice and chewy and sticks together well. Not too crumbly. If you think you’ve got a solution, feel free to post a comment! Here goes:

1 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 cup corn syrup

2 tsp vanilla

3 cups oatmeal

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup flax or sunflower seeds

1/2 cup raisins or finely chopped dates

1/3 cup wheat germ

2 Tbsp sesame seeds (toasted, if desired)

1 cup chocolate chips

Mix all ingredients together well. Press into a greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350* for 20 minutes. Let cool. Cut into bars.

UPDATE:

I have found it! It still has a lot of sugar, but I put no corn syrup in it, and it is the PERFECT texture, and every member of my family loves the taste! Thanks to my friend, Yvonne, I used this recipe as a starting point. If you’ll notice, it’s quite similar to the one above, but it’s halved and has a few slight alterations. I suggest using the new recipe and tweaking it to suit your family’s tastes. Here’s what I put into mine:

1 2/3 cups quick rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

scant 1/3 cup wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

approximately 1/3 cup each raisins, coconut, chocolate chips, wheat germ, sesame seeds, ground flax seed

1/3 cup peanut butter or another nut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 tablespoons melted butter

1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon water

I greased my 8×8 pan and preheated my oven to 350*F. Then I put the honey and butter on the stove to slowly melt. I mixed all the dry ingredients together, then added the melted mixture and the vanilla and water. I mixed that well, then mixed in the peanut butter. I baked it for about 25 minutes and let it cool completely before cutting into bars. These held together very well, but were still nice and chewy. Until I my grocery budget gives me room for more healthful sugar substitutes, or more dried fruits and nuts so that I can make a completely healthy bar (like the one posted by Lori-Dawn in the comments), I will be using this recipe. It is our new staple!

2 Responses to Granola Bars

  1. Lori-Dawn says:

    In a food processor,
    1 cup warmed dates
    1 cup almonds
    1/2 cup each sesame seeds, quinoa, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, oats, coconut.
    grind to a meal like texture then transfer to a bowl and add 3 Tbsp honey and enough peanut butter to make it all stick together nicely…then I shape into fingers but weigh each one so they’re not too big..they should be 32g each. LOVE them! Awesome protein bars! sometimes I add a 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips too… or substitute cranberries for raisins…

  2. Yvonne says:

    Whoohoo! So glad I was a part of the process! Congrats on your perseverance to get it done!

Leave a Reply

